Petr Bakla  



Wind Quintet No.2 (2013)
for flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn and bassoon

- durata: 10 min
- commissioned by the Festspiele Europäische Wochen Passau
- premiered by the Phoenix Wind Quintet on 4th July 2013 in Pocking, Germany

The Wind Quintet No.2 is a good example of my inclination towards creating music that has energy, but lacks psychological drama (i.e. is not "expressionist"). The piece is a monolith consisting of a single block of music without interruption and obvious formal division. Although the music is constantly changing, is unpredictable in detail and never repeats anything, on general level it remains “the same thing” throughout. I would compare it to clouds flying over the sky – and while there is no aesthetical connection to natural phenomena of such a kind
(I made no conscious attempt to imitate or evoke these), it might be a good way for the listener to approach the piece: as an object of observation, as an entity that "exists" rather than "tells".